Interview with The Boy – 2013

Once again, I’m late in conducting this annual interview, but at least I’m remember to do it! Actually getting him to sit down and answer questions while I have my computer on is the hard part. Usually, my laptop stays closed until after he goes to bed, mainly because that’s the only time I’m able to get any writing done.

But without further ado, here’s this year’s interview:

(Interview conducted at approximately 1:05PM. Answers provided by The Boy. Commentary from Eileen follows responses in italics.)

 

1. What is something mom always says to you?

Stay on my heels.

Yes, because he has a horrid habit of walking on his toes.

2. What makes mom happy?

Kissing you. (When I kiss you and when you kiss me.)

Yes, this is true.

3. What makes mom sad?

Crying. Snakes.

Interesting that he thinks snakes make me sad, if by “sad” you really mean “freaked out.”

4. How does your mom make you laugh?

By tickling me.

This is also true.

5. What was your mom like as a child?

I don’t know because I wasn’t alive.

He’s got a point.

6. How old is your mom?

39.

Wrong! He missed it by a year. But if you’re rounding up, I guess he was correct.

7. How tall is your mom

[He took out the tape measure for this.] It looks like you are at 60. So five feet.

He totally cheated.

8. What is her favorite thing to watch on TV?

The news. The Roku box.

He could have answered anything. I don’t watch a lot of TV.

9. What does your mom do when you’re not around?

Go shopping.

Uh, no.

10. If your mom becomes famous, what will it be for?

I have no idea.

Really? He met my literary agent and he has no idea?

11. What is your mom really good at?

I have no idea.

Same comment as above. [sigh]

12. What is your mom not very good at?

I have no idea.

I don’t think he’s trying.

13. What does your mom do for her job?

She makes money and listens to music and stuff like that.

Um… Okay.

14. What is your mom’s favorite food?

I have no idea.

I really thought he’d say something like “salad.” No such luck.

15. What makes you proud of your mom?

Cuddling me.

[smile]

16. If your mom were a cartoon character, who would she be?

I do not know.

[sigh]

17. What do you and your mom do together?

We cuddle together, we go shopping together.

What’s with the shopping thing? I don’t like to go shopping.

18. How are you and your mom the same?

By our faces and also the height.

It is true; he’s almost as tall as I am.

19. How are you and your mom different?

That you’re a girl and I’m a boy.

He went for the obvious. That’s my boy. =)

20. How do you know your mom loves you?

She cuddles me. She tickles me. She kisses me.

[smile]

21. What does your mom like most about your dad?

That he’s a good cook.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I mean, yes, Daddy is a very good cook.

22. Where is your mom’s favorite place to go?

Mostly the mall.

Huh?

23. If you would change one thing about mom, what would it be?

I have no idea.

I suppose it’s better than saying I could be nicer. Still… [sigh]

Leave a Reply

