Excited for the Earth Day 12K!

Well, tomorrow is the big day: my first 12K.

I’m excited. I’m nervous. I’m scared to death. But I got a peek at the map yesterday, and the more I look at it, the more excited I am because, if nothing else, it’s going to be a really pretty run.

Tomorrow's course. Oddly, 7.46-ish miles doesn't look so daunting on paper.

My calves are only feeling a bit sore today, which is to say it doesn’t feel like I’ve pulled or torn anything. Tomorrow may be a different story, of course, but I have every intention of listening to my body the entire time and just going at my own pace.

And enjoying the lakeside run, of course.

I had a series of dreams last night that I overslept for the run. I doubt this will happen; I will likely have trouble going to sleep tonight because I’m that excited about it. But I know I need to get a good night’s sleep, so I have to make sure I go to bed early tonight. I may be up at 4AM with nervous anticipation, but I at least need to get a decent amount of shut-eye.

In the meantime, I wonder if I can find a way to bottle up this excitement so I can draw on it the next time I need motivation to run.

Leave a Reply

