Overbooked

Someone, please remind me next year that signing up for a race right after The Boy’s birthday is not such a great idea. Sure, it sounds like it’s doable, and on paper, it totally is, but the reality is that I’m still exhausted and I really need to do some training so that I don’t kill hurt myself running this Saturday’s Earth Day 12K.

In hindsight, I’m glad I didn’t sign up for the 5K at Legoland this past weekend. I really wanted to, but The Boy’s first guitar lesson was that day, so it kind of quashed that plan. But thank God I didn’t because I would be hating life in a major way today.

I’m not scared, exactly, of the 12K. I know I can do it, and I also know that I’m going to be giving myself plenty of walking breaks to make sure I don’t hurt myself. But I’d kind of like to do a good job of it, too, which is why I’m beating myself up about it. (Never mind that I would have scoffed at the idea of running roughly seven and a half miles a mere 6 months ago.

Well, I’m hoping to get to bed early tonight to catch up on rest, and then I can take my new Garmin watch out for a test run (I’m so punny!) tomorrow morning. I need to set my alarm and just get out there.

And I figure if I say it here, I’m more inclined to do it!

Leave a Reply

