I’m really going to do this

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that I was toying with the idea of joining my sister and close family friends (who are really more like sisters to me, as we all grew up together) in running Bay to Breakers in San Francisco. This past weekend, while talking to Big Sis E, she told me to register for the race, even if I wasn’t entirely sure I’d be able to go.

“If you aren’t able to make it, I’ll cover your registration fees,” she offered. “That way, if you find you’re able to go, you can run the race. But if you run it, I’m not paying for it.”

“And if I go but get scared and don’t want to run it?” I asked, grinning broadly though she couldn’t see me over the phone.

“Then I’m definitely not paying for it!”

So I promised to register that weekend. And then I didn’t. As I wrote in an email to her this morning, “I could tell you everything I did this past weekend but then it just sounds like I’m making lame excuses, so let’s just leave it at ‘I just didn’t do it because I’m a slacker and I suck.'”

Okay, I may be a teeny bit too self-deprecating.

At any rate, I followed through on my promise today and registered for the race. Moreover, I checked flights to and from San Francisco and found an itinerary that wouldn’t inconvenience Cute Husband too much with shuttling The Boy to and from school in my absence (though he’ll have to pick him up the day I leave), especially since school is much closer to my work than his. And that means I’ll have my flights booked early next week and will be California-bound towards the end of May.

Now, part of this is to give me an extra goal, something to look forward to after my Earth Day 12K and before the Summer 5K Series. It’s feeding my restless energy and making me want to get out and run some more. And knowing that I’m going to be running with my friends (or, at the very least, showing up with them and meeting them at the finish line) makes me feel a little better about the fact that I still haven’t technically finished the C25K program (at least, not by my measure).

And it’s not like I’ll have the opportunity to run Bay to Breakers every year, especially not with my friends.

Leave a Reply

