The run that almost wasn’t…

I will admit it: I did not want to go running today. It’s getting hotter already (temperatures at 4AM were already in the low 70s), I’m very sleepy and haven’t fully recovered from the craziness of the past weekend, and my 12K isn’t for another 6 weeks and that feels like forever away.

But I set my alarm. And I (begrudgingly) got up.

And then The Boy awoke asking if it was morning yet, and I snuggled with him in his bed in attempts to get him to go back to sleep. It was so cozy, so tempting to drift off to sleep myself. But I ultimately excused myself and prepared for my run.

I’m so glad that I did.

I’m still tired; don’t be mistaken. And now I’m hot, sweaty, and stinky to boot. But I did 4 laps around the neighborhood (up until now, I’ve been doing 3), ran for 32 minutes (I missed the cue for the cool down walk), and feel really good about it. My calves are a bit sore and I felt a bit lightheaded when I stopped running and started walking, but a stretch and a shower will alleviate the one and some breakfast will fix the other.

It’s getting too hot to wear my exercise pants with a hoodie now. I don’t mind it so much, really; I have many pairs of shorts (only 2 pairs of exercise pants) and only so many hoodies, so this isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I had to take off my hoodie again today during Lap 2 and tossed it onto the driveway when I began Lap 3. It’s getting hotter, for sure.

But all in all, it was a great run. Let’s just hope the rest of the day goes as smoothly!

Leave a Reply

