40 Days of Thanks

I decided in addition to the 40 Bags in 40 Days challenge that I already committed to doing for Lent, I wanted to do something a little more meaningful. Sure, it’s nice to  collect things I no longer use with the express purpose of donating them to an organization that can help those less fortunate than I. But it just seems like there’s an ulterior motive attached to it, and while I will still go forward with it (I’ve committed, after all), I needed wanted to do something more.

And I’ve come up with my 40 Days of Thanks.

I don't think any of us say "Thank You" nearly as much as we ought.

The rules are simple:

  • Each day, I write a thank-you note to someone.
  • The “Thank You” cannot be for stuff (though I’m awful about writing those).
  • The thank-you note has to be handwritten – no emails!
  • The thank-you note also has to be mailed.
  • If I skip a day, I may write two notes the next day to make up for it.
  • Thank-you notes have to be sent to 40 different people.
  • Each thank-you card I sent should be hand-made. (This is optional, of course, but given the amount of paper I have at my disposal, there really is no reason I shouldn’t do this.)

Easy enough, right? And by Easter Sunday, I will have reached out with gratitude to 40 people who have helped shape me into who I am today.

And I’ll have 40 bags of stuff to give away, too.

Leave a Reply

