You’ve come a long way, baby!

(Remember those old Virginia Slims ads? No? Well, then I’m totally dating myself.)

I ran for 28 minutes today without stopping for a walk break. Just a few weeks ago I was freaked out about an 8-minute run and doubted I’d be able to run for 20 minutes straight. A month ago, I was certain I would collapse if I tried to run longer than 5 minutes without stopping for a walk. And this morning, I ran for 28 minutes.

(Cue the applause.)

Moreover, I feel fabulous. My muscles no longer feel like they’re ready to declare war on the rest of my body (well, not after the run, anyway), and I feel energized and alive. I’m still not a fan of getting up out of bed at oh-dark-hundred, particularly when The Boy wakes at midnight declaring he can’t sleep, but once I’m on the road, it’s not so bad.

It will probably be a day for a double-shot mocha, though. Once I get him to school, I mean.

I still can’t believe I ran for as long as I did today. I wouldn’t have thought it possible, but here I am, done with the first day of Week 7 (and I actually completed a Week 8 session).

The Family Fun Run is just 4 days away now, and my official completion of C25K is not far beyond that.

And this running thing? Minus the hills, it’s really not so bad.

Leave a Reply

