Only two more weeks to go!

There are only two more weeks until the Family Fun Run, and I am getting better at this running thing. Oh, sure –  running is something a toddler can do. But I’m in pathetic shape and need to work up to a 3-mile jaunt. Without wheels.

So I completed the halfway mark of C25K on this gorgeous Saturday morning. I didn’t get up super early in the morning, running instead at about 8:30 while the temperatures were still in the 50s. And there wasn’t a single cloud in the sky. See? Gorgeous.

I pushed myself harder and actually did the workout for Day 2 of Week 6, mainly to see if I could. After all, my training on Monday is a 20-minute run. (It actually says “jog”, but I see no difference between a “jog” and a “run”.) I’m proud to say that I was able to run for 10 minutes straight and could have probably even gone a bit longer. Another 10 minutes longer, I’m not sure, but I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished today.

Mind you, I’ve realized always feel better after I’ve showered and eaten after training, so that’s the better time to ask how my training went. If you ask me while I’m running or immediately after I begin my cool down walk, I would rage that running is the worst idea the human brain could have imagined. But after my muscles have a chance to quiet down and my heart rate returns to normal, I feel a whole lot better about it.

But will I be saying this on Monday, too? Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

