Feeling grateful

A gorgeous full moon greeted me this morning as I stepped out for my run. It was simply amazing, and I was at once grateful for the opportunity to see it. There was the customary halo around the moon, but as the light radiated from it, the clouds seemed to simply surround it, as if giving the moon a wide berth to shed light onto the earth.

I felt so at peace, and though there wasn’t a single soul awake at 4AM in my neighborhood, I didn’t feel like I was alone.

I don’t think I have the vocabulary to describe it. All the words I know don’t lend justice to how I felt during my run.

Now, what’s really funny is that I noticed the moon in all it’s splendor while I was complaining about how chilled I was. I chanced to look up, and suddenly I felt much warmer. Maybe not my skin, but my spirit was warmed.

And I know I have so much to be grateful for, not least of which is my health, without which I wouldn’t be able to run and witness things like the glorious full moon. (And I’m grateful for my sister who made encouraged me to share in her lunacy hobby.)

I had a great start to Week 5. Today’s training is the easiest of Week 5, I know, but I still feel really good about it. Today’s training was intervals of running for 5 minutes and walking for 3. I told Cute Husband last night that I was a little disappointed it was “only” three 5-minute runs and that I would probably tack on an additional three minutes (again) to the last run. As soon as I said it, I laughed at myself because just 4 weeks ago, I would have blanched at the thought of running for 5 minutes straight.

Well, Monday will be my 20-minute run, so let’s see if I’m still feeling cocky after that. [shudders]

Leave a Reply

