Realizations after 4 weeks of C25K

I woke up early enough to go running yesterday morning (and a good thing, too, since it was threatening rain in the afternoon), which means that I’m officially done with Week 4.

Yay, me!

Someone once told me that if you do something for 2 weeks, it becomes a habit. Someone else told me it takes 4 weeks.

Both of those someones are liars.

Pulling myself out of bed before the first rays of sunlight is not a habit, nor do I think it will become a habit even after I finish all nine weeks of C25K. (Oh, yes – I will finish this. The Family Fun Run may be just a little more than 2 weeks away and I will only be up to the end of Week 7, but God help me, I am going to finish this thing.) But I’m nothing if not dedicated, and that dedication is what is pushing me to work at this.

And yes, this is work. Dear God, my calf muscles can attest to that.

Anyway, I have realized quite a bit during these past few weeks, mostly about myself but a bit about running too. Some of them are what I like to call “No Duh” realizations, but others are a little more insightful.

  • Running really isn’t so bad once you realize that it’s really just a competition with yourself.
  • It’s also not so terrible when you focus on your breathing and concentrate on keeping a rhythm.
  • But it really sucks when you forget to hydrate.
  • Or eat.
  • I will tire myself out needlessly if I try to take quicker steps when I run.
  • I can cover more space by taking longer strides with the same number of steps.
  • The best way to practice taking longer strides (and just paying better attention to my running form in general) is while going up a hill.
  • My running form is actually pretty good.
  • I still don’t like hills.
  • It is much nicer to run in 60° weather than 80°.
  • But 80° is infinitely preferable to 16°.

So tomorrow marks the start of Week 5, and I’m really proud of myself for making it this far. But Week 5 is also the first week that my training will be a little different each day, and by Monday, I will be running for 20 minutes straight.

Okay, that freaks me out.

But I know I can do it. I have to do it. As inviting as that tiny “quit” button on my phone may seem at times, I’m not going to give up, not after I’ve already come so far.

Leave a Reply

