And so it begins…

“What did you make in art class?” I asked The Boy yesterday when I picked him up from school.

“Um, it’s in my backpack,” he replied, putting down his stuff and opening his backpack. “See?” He pulled out a plastic bag with some beads and a length of ribbon. “I made a necklace but the beads fell out and I have to do it again.”

“Okay,” I said. “Maybe we can do that when we get home.”

“And I want to give the bracelet to my girlfriend.”

He said it so matter-of-factly, like it’s perfectly normal to be not-quite-5 and making jewelry to give to a girl. I take it in stride – without missing a beat – and replied, “Sure. That’s a great idea.”

Inwardly, I have to admit that I don’t like this. But if I react badly when he’s 4, how am I going to react when he’s 14?

His girlfriend, R, is very cute. They don’t play together, he says; they just walk around at recess and sit together in the classroom. He’s talked to Cute Husband about her, and we’ve agreed that the best way to handle this is to let him take the lead, meaning we aren’t to talk about it unless The Boy brings it up.

Anyway, after watching Transformers last night (the cartoon circa 1984, not the movie), he announced that he wanted to finish the bracelet to give to his girlfriend. I helped him and even gave him a few extra beads from my collection. When he was satisfied with it, I carefully knotted it to make sure the bracelet wouldn’t come undone.

The Boy's first real jewelry creation.

This morning, after a good night’s sleep (he seemed to have some pretty intense nightmares last night, though he says he doesn’t remember any of them), he decided not to give this bracelet to R, but announced that he wants to give it to E, his friend from his old school, instead.

Well, if it’s any consolation, I can rest secure in the knowledge that while girls will come in and out of his life, he’ll be my little boy forever.

Leave a Reply

