Musings after Week 3 Day 2

I only have one more day of Week Three to go! Yay! (And then we step it up again. Eek.)

I was propelled out of bed this morning by a strange dream. My sister was telling me that if I was going to go running, I’d better go already because she was not going to be late for class because of me. After some bickering, I started packing my gym bag (one I currently own; not one from high school, and now that I think about it, I don’t think I owned a gym bag in high school) instead of lacing up my shoes to run, figuring that if I didn’t need to pick up The Boy from school today, anyway…

And that’s when I woke up, saw that it was already 4:30 (yikes!) and bolted pulled myself out of bed.

Some observations from this morning’s jaunt:

  • 50°F is really cold.
  • I prefer being warm.
  • I wonder if it’s normal for my hands to be freezing until after the 2/3 mark.
  • I think I’d like to make a deal with God and be running up hills with no problems.
  • I also still need to work on that whole Lazy Mile concept.
  • Running for 3 minutes isn’t the worst thing ever.
  • But the 3-minute walk after the 3-minute run seems to take forever.
  • I will probably miss the 3-minute walk when it’s taken from me later this week.
  • I’m glad I remember to hydrate before going out in the mornings.
  • I also need to remember to eat.

I’ve also decided I have a bipolar relationship with running. One minute, I’m thinking, “Yay! We’re stretched, we’re alive, we feel good. Let’s get out there!” And then the next moment I’m thinking, “You’ve got to be kidding. Who’s brilliant idea was this, anyway?”

If I could only draw, I’d bet I could make a hilarious comic strip featuring the voices in my head. It’s like Goth Girl versus Cheerleader.

Well, one thing the voices in my head agree upon is that when it’s all over, I feel good. Okay, physically, my muscles are screaming at me, but mentally, I feel good.

I just need to remember to eat next time.

Leave a Reply

