Proud Mommy moment

I saw The Boy’s teacher, Ms. M, after school today. I had to take The Boy to the restroom, and she was still in the building. I didn’t get a chance to really talk to her last Friday because we were running late, so I took the opportunity to ask how things were going.

She told me he’s doing very well with all of his lessons, but she wanted to share something particularly noteworthy.

Yesterday, there was a little boy name Sebastian visiting the classroom. He’ll join the class as a student in February, but he was just visiting yesterday and was understandably upset during his visit. After all, it’s an unfamiliar place with unfamiliar people, and Sebastian must have been very nervous and scared. So he was crying.

Ms. M was sitting with Sebastian, trying to calm him down and get him to stop crying, when The Boy came over to them.

“Sebastian, it’s okay,” The Boy told him. “When I first came here, I was really nervous because I didn’t know anybody. But now I know Ms. M and all my friends, and I love it here! So it’s okay. You’ll be happy here, too.”

Ms. M and Mrs. G were both stunned. The Boy returned to his lessons and Sebastian settled down a bit. When the kids all went to recess, The Boy took Sebastian in hand and played with him.

This isn’t the first time The Boy has shown such empathy towards others. This past weekend, when Cousin M was having a bit of an anxiety attack because she was scared to go on Star Tours, The Boy tried to assuage her fears and told her that it wasn’t at all scary. And the times I’ve watched Jen’s son E and E would inevitably get sad because he misses his mom, The Boy always steps in to comfort and distract him.

But this is the first time someone else has told me about it, the first time (that I know of) that it has happened without me being there to witness it.

And it warms my heart to know The Boy has such a kind heart.

Leave a Reply

