Requesting homework?

The Boy is really trying hard to read.

Ms. M told me about a month ago that he’s doing very well; she tests each child every few weeks to measure their progress, and The Boy is doing very well. By the end of the school year, she informed me, he’ll be reading – truly reading – very well.

I pulled out Pug, an old reader that I used when I was in school. I don’t remember what grade I was in when I used it, or even if this reader was actually mine, but I remember reading from this book, or at least something like it.

I clearly remember the drawings that showed the rules for deciphering which words had long vowel sounds, and they’ve helped The Boy better understand the rules. Now it’s just a matter of having him take his time and study the word for a bit before he begins sounding it out.

At any rate, this morning, he asked me to please pack a book in his backpack tomorrow so that he can do some homework after school. I will, of course, be happy to oblige. I’m not going to stand in his way if he wants to learn or master something.

Leave a Reply

