Another playground milestone

When I arrived to pick up The Boy from school this afternoon, he was on the other side of the playground.

“Mom!” he yelled when he saw me.

“Hey, buds!”

“Watch this!” He ran straight for the monkey bars, which is like a yellow geodesic dome in the middle of the playground, hoisted himself up on them, and lowered himself until he was hanging upside down.

I froze for half a second. A part of me wanted to run over and get him off of that as quickly as possible, and another part of me cursed myself for leaving my phone in the car because I couldn’t get a picture of him hanging like a monkey. But I acted as naturally as I could and laughed, saying, “Okay, you little monkey. It’s time to go home.”

“I’m not a monkey!” he insisted, still upside down. “I’m a bat!”

Leave a Reply

