To do this weekend: Break out the crochet hooks

Mom’s old crochet hooks were staring at me last weekend. Or maybe I’ve just been thinking about them since I ran across their little plastic holder while I was readying the guest room.

At any rate, it’s been a while since I’ve crocheted anything (more than 4 years, in fact, since I think the last thing I made was The Boy’s baby blanket), so I think it’s time.

But I’ve given away most of my yarn, so what am I to do? Well, as far as I’m concerned, this is the perfect time to make some plarn!

What is plarn? It’s plastic yarn, of course!

After a quick search, I came across this tutorial and found it ridiculously easy to make. It’s not like I’m planning on making a blanket or something that’s supposed to be soft. What I’d really like to make is a cute, functional, and totally recyclable bag. I saw these bags for sale at Animal Kingdom when we went a few weeks ago and have been noodling that idea ever since.

So I found a pattern for an adorable multicolor crocheted bag, decided that it’s easy enough to do, and am now determined to break out Mom’s old crochet hooks this weekend and at least start making it. And if this also means I get to clear out the collection of plastic bags currently occupying space under the kitchen island, well, so be it!

But first, I need more plarn….

Leave a Reply

