“She doesn’t understand!”

The Boy has been very tired this week. With Aunt A and Cousin E visiting this past weekend, he didn’t go to bed until after 9 o’clock on Saturday night and after 8pm on Sunday. For a child who absolutely does not function on less than 10 hours of sleep (and operates best on 11-12 hours of rest) and needs to be up no later than 6:30 on a school day morning, this translated to a very sleepy boy. This has been the toughest week for our AM routine since June.

Last night, Cute Husband and I reduced The Boy’s number of shows to one (but I threw in a story to extend cuddle-time a bit), which did not go over well with the little man.

“Ms. M says I need to go to bed at 8!” he insisted. “It’s not 8!”

Never mind that he was fighting sleep in the car on the way home from school. Never mind that his eyelids were so heavy as he sat at the dinner table eating his hot dog and apple sauce. The Boy was adamant that he wasn’t sleepy; he wanted a second show.

Cute Husband and I held our ground, though, and The Boy was in bed by 7:30 and asleep by 7:45. And when he woke this morning, he was much more pleasant. He was still sleepy, but he didn’t complain about needing more sleep the way he had the rest of the week.

As I like to do on Fridays when we get to school a little early, I walked The Boy to his classroom today. Ms. M had sent me an email earlier this week about coming in for a craft project a week from Monday, and since I hadn’t had a chance to reply, I wanted to let her know that day worked with my schedule.

I also apologized for The Boy being so sleepy and explained that he had a really busy weekend last week and hadn’t had a chance to catch up on sleep. I know The Boy kind of shuts down and refuses to listen when he’s tired, but I was pleasantly surprised to hear that, despite all the drama at home, The Boy had been very good (using his Listening Ears and all) at school.

But Ms. M told me that some of the older kids were falling asleep in class and that she had to send a few emails this week to parents because quite a few kids were tired and not listening well. (You have no idea how relieved I am that The Boy was not among them.)

“We had a talk yesterday about bedtime,” she explained, “because it seems like a lot of them just aren’t getting enough sleep.”

“Yeah!” The Boy interjected. “Ms. M, I told my mom that I need to go to bed at 8 o’clock, but she doesn’t understand!”

“I put him to bed at 7:30 last night,” I said quietly.

“Yeah! And I told her you said I have to go to bed at 8! See? She doesn’t understand!”

Ms. M smiled, and it seemed like she was trying not to laugh.

“It’s okay,” she said. “As long as you’re asleep by 8 o’clock, if your mom wants to put you to bed before 8, it’s okay. You just need to be asleep by 8.”

I’m glad it’s almost the weekend. I can get him to bed at 6:30 or 7 tomorrow night and get him caught up on sleep a bit. And maybe he’ll forgive me if I get him to bed before 8 o’clock now.

Leave a Reply

