On today’s menu: Pumpkin Flan

I started the morning with a redo of the Bacon, Egg & Cheese Biscuit Muffins that I made yesterday. (And I found them on Pinterest.) These are really good (Cute Husband enjoyed them), but the ones I made yesterday went a little crazy with the egg going everywhere. But I think it also may have had something to do with the amount of biscuit dough that I put into each muffin cup (I went with a simple homemade biscuit recipe instead of using ready-made biscuits like the recipe suggests), the fact that I didn’t dock the dough with a fork when I put it into the pan, and the amount of egg that I used. So I modified all of that (the biscuit recipe yielded 10 muffins), removed the milk from the egg in the muffin recipe, et voila! They turned out beautifully!

Bacon, Egg, & Cheese Biscuit Muffins. Yes, I know that sounds weird, but they're amazing. Just go with me on this.

Next up was the pumpkin flan recipe I’d been eyeing. I needed to run to the store, anyway, so I made sure I picked up some egg whites in addition to more eggs. I swear; I have used more eggs these last few weeks than I have all year. This is what happens when I start feeling a bit creative and want to cook.

So here’s the thing with the flan recipe as it currently reads: I’m not a huge fan of ginger with pumpkin. I know they go very well together, but I just don’t want it. Maybe this summer I’ll be more in the mood for ginger, but right now, I’m all about cinnamon and nutmeg, so I modified the recipe a bit. I wanted pumpkin pie flavors but a in creamy flan with a drippy, syrupy caramel sauce surrounding it instead of a flaky crust.

Oh my goodness, I’m hungry.

My mother used to make flan, but I was never a fan of her recipe. I’m not entirely sure why; I would typically inhale anything my mother cooked (as long as it didn’t include mung beans or seafood), but I drew the line at her flan. Over the past 15 years or so, I’ve developed a taste for flan in general, and I finally decided to try making it myself. And now that I know how easy it is, I may need to do this more often.

Pumpkin Flan: It's like a lighter, custard-y version of pumpkin pie filling, only without the flaky crust getting in the way.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 sugar
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 egg whites (or the equivalent in liquid egg whites)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk
  • 3/4 cup milk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. In a heavy saucepan (I used a saucier, myself), combine the first three ingredients and simmer over low heat until sugar melts, then increase heat to medium and cook until caramel turns a dark bronze, being careful not to let it burn.
  3. Carefully pour the scalding caramel into 6 ramekins, being sure to evenly coat the sides as well as the bottom, and set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together the next three ingredients until they are well blended and a smooth consistency.
  5. Add the remaining ingredients and whisk until smooth.
  6. Pour (or ladle) the mixture into each of the prepared ramekins.
  7. Place the filled ramekins into a deep baking dish and put the baking dish into the oven. Pour enough hot water into the baking dish to surround the ramekins, creating a water bath.
  8. Bake for 45 minutes or until a toothpick (or flat skewer) inserted into the custard comes out clean.
  9. Allow the ramekins to cool, then cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least two hours.
  10. Before serving, run a knife around the edges of the ramekin to loosen the custard, then invert the flan onto a small dessert plate, allowing the caramel to surround it.
Leave a Reply

