Earning his allowance

I came across this list of chores that young children can do, complete with appropriate age level, this afternoon, and as I looked at the list, I realized there are a few things The Boy already does, but there are a lot more he can do but I just don’t ask him to do (yet).

The thing is, some of these things aren’t even things that I do. “Wipe baseboards with duster or dry rag”? Um… I get to that maybe once a month. Per room.

(Note to self: Dust baseboards tonight. Better yet, show The Boy how to do it.)

According to this list, laundry is a big area where kids can help. Between 18-months to 2-years-old, a child can:

  • Take laundry to the appropriate room
  • Match socks
  • Return laundry baskets to appropriate rooms
  • Put clothes in the hamper

And by the time they’re preschoolers (3- to 5-years-old), they can help out with even more laundry:

  • Put away laundry
  • Fold simple clothing items (like shorts and pants)
  • Sort laundry by family member
  • Help carry the laundry basket

The Boy does a lot of this already, so I’m doing something right.

As I looked at the rest of the list, I realized he actually does quite a lot of the things mentioned (helping set the table, wiping up spills, putting dirty dishes in the sink, pulling up the comforter on his bed), and many of the things I don’t have him do are things that I don’t do, either.

So what have I learned from this?

There are preschoolers out there who are better housekeepers than I am.

And The Boy is earning his allowance just by helping me with laundry.

Leave a Reply

