Make It Monday: 4-Ingredient Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

I found a recipe for vegan coconut ice cream on Pinterest a while ago that I’ve been wanting to try, but since it’s so close to Halloween (and I’m on a bit of a pumpkin kick right now), I decided to modify it and try making a pumpkin ice cream, instead.

Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

I changed a couple of things on the coconut ice cream recipe when I made it yesterday, besides just adding pumpkin. The original recipe called for vanilla, salt, lemon juice, and ginger. Since I used pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling), I opted to eliminate all of these. I also swapped the quantities of coconut cream and coconut milk, knowing that I’d need to compensate for adding density in the form of the pumpkin puree.

Also, because I used regular (read: not unsweetened) coconut milk, it eliminated the need to add additional sugar. Amazingly, even without any cinnamon or other spices, this ice cream had a lot of different flavors going on. Pumpkin and coconut, it turns out, work pretty well together!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 15 ounces coconut cream
  • 2-1/2 cups coconut milk (not the unsweetened kind)
  • 15 ounces pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)

Method:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the ingredients.
  2. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, then refrigerate for at least two hours.
  3. Pour the chilled mixture into a frozen ice cream maker and follow the machine’s instructions.
  4. Serve immediately for soft-serve ice cream or place into a freezer-safe container and freeze for 2-3 hours if you desire a thicker consistency.

Despite my recipe yielding more than the 1-1/2 quarts that my ice cream maker holds (if you have access to one that holds 1-3/4, you’re in luck!), this turned out really well. I had read that a simple pumpkin ice cream could be achieved just by adding pumpkin pie filling to vanilla ice cream, but I think this recipe was just as easy.

It’s definitely more pumpkin and not really very vanilla, though.

2 thoughts on “Make It Monday: 4-Ingredient Vegan Pumpkin Ice Cream

  1. Awesome! So glad you came up with a new version of this ice cream. We have a Coconut Pumpkin Bread on our site, so it’s def true that those two ingredients go well together. Enjoy your ice cream!

  2. I found your blueberry ice cream on the site and pinned it to Pinterest. I happen to be out of blueberries right now (frozen or otherwise), but I definitely want to try it!

Leave a Reply

