Make It Monday: Cheesy Pizza Poofs

(Two posts for a Make It Monday? I’m out of control! But seriously, I made the pumpkin ice cream yesterday and, well, this is what happens when The Boy doesn’t have school and I stay home to keep him entertained.)

I discovered a recipe for Pepperoni Pizza Muffins on Pinterest some time ago, and I just hadn’t made the time to make it. Upon looking at this recipe, I discovered there are several other variations, all basically making the same Pepperoni Pizza Puffs.

But I don’t happen to have pepperoni on hand today, and, well, I really wanted to make something that doesn’t have a processed something-or-another in it already.

The other crazy thing that was missing from the other recipes was garlic. Isn’t that bizarre? Who makes a pizza-anything without garlic? It would be like telling the story of Star Wars without Darth Vader, or Gone With the Wind without Scarlett O’Hara.

It’s just wrong.

So I modified these other recipes to make my own recipe for Cheesy Pizza Poofs. (And make no mistake about it – they are definitely cheesy!)

Cheesy Pizza Poofs: Easy and cheesy!

Ingredients:
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1-1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 3/4 whole milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1-1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 3/8 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • marinara sauce for dipping
Method:
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the first 4 ingredients. (I like to kind of unceremoniously dump them in, but that’s just me.)
  3. Add milk and egg, then mix thoroughly with a fork or whisk.
  4. Add cheeses and mix together, ensuring the cheeses are incorporated into the batter. (The batter will be lumpy.)
  5. Let the batter rest for at least 10 minutes.
  6. While the batter is resting, grease and flour (or just spray with Pam for Baking; it’s much easier) a 24-cup mini-muffin pan. (I like to bake in my toaster oven, so I actually use 2 12-cup mini-muffin tins.)
  7. Using a small scoop (the kind you use for cookies or really tiny scoops of ice cream), portion out the batter into the 24 cups. (This actually yielded 30 poofs for me, but they’re also pretty tiny.)
  8. Bake at 375 degrees until the tops are golden and the batter has puffed up a bit, about 20 minutes.
  9. Heat up the marinara and serve immediately with the pizza poofs.
The Boy liked these a lot (and nodded enthusiastically when I asked if he wanted me to pack them for his lunch tomorrow). And start to finish (complete with 3 different batches baking in my little toaster oven) only took about 75 minutes (that’s including an hour of baking time, if you haven’t followed the math on the instructions above), so this recipe may require more than 5 ingredients, but when your prep time is only about 15 minutes (including the time it takes for your precocious 4-year-old to break the eggs and add the milk), it still gets billing as one of the easiest recipes in my repertoire.

My sous chef at work. (You don't think I always let him eat for free, do you?)

2 thoughts on “Make It Monday: Cheesy Pizza Poofs

Leave a Reply

