I’ve been quiet…

It used to be that a Quiet Eileen meant I was getting into trouble. Sadly, I can only report this is not the case. In fact, this Quiet Eileen has been a very Busy Eileen. Between budget season at work and the usual month-end wrap ups, I’ve been putting in some pretty long hours and, well, not blogging.

At any rate, I can see a light at the end of the tunnel now, and I know for a fact it’s not an oncoming train. First, my role in the budget process is just about over (yippee!), and on the home front, my mother-in-law is coming to visit! Double Yippee!!!

You see, The Boy is so active these days. I don’t get a chance to relax or take any time for myself on a normal day, and I was nursing a God-awful cold last week that I couldn’t shake because, well, I couldn’t get enough rest! I was a major stress case – there’s no denying that. So, when Cute Husband asked if it was okay if his mom came to visit, no sooner were the words out of his mouth that I responded, “Yes! When?” He later told her that I didn’t think she could get here fast enough, which, sadly, really is the truth.

The visit from Cute Husband’s mom meant I needed to get the guest room in order, though, which was the only stressful thing about the pending visit. But last night, I totally surprised myself and whipped the room into shape – and it took me less than two hours! In fact, for the first time in, like, ever, the room looks like a guest room that happens to have some boxes stored in it instead of a storage room that happens to have a bed in it. You can get in and out of the bed from either side of it, and I even have fairly easy access to all of my craft supplies, should I feel the urge to be a little creative! How crazy is that? When it was all done, I wished I took pictures before I started the process so I could see the transformation.

Can you tell I was thoroughly impressed with myself?

So, there are a number of things I would really like to do while she’s here, including purging my wardrobe, repotting the plants on the window sill, finishing some greeting cards I had started, finishing the cutting on the pattern for a sewing project (which she might even be able to teach me to complete!), and make a few meals to freeze for later consumption. I would also love to paint the dining room, but let’s not go overboard. But if she’d like to stay forever, I’d be okay with that, too.

I can’t guarantee that I’ll be blogging more, but I know I’ll be feeling a lot less overwhelmed!

Leave a Reply

