The best way to get out of housework…

…is to get someone else to do it.

Alas, hiring a housekeeper is out of the question (and budget), so I need to get creative. Because I really really don’t like housework. I’m not ashamed to admit it.

Yesterday, while I was emptying the dishwasher, I decided to make a bit of a game of it with The Boy. After all, he’s old enough to earn his keep, and if I get him used to doing chores now, I’ll make some lucky girl extremely happy when he decides to settle down and get married. So I asked him to sort the flatware, and he eagerly (almost excitedly, really) rushed to help me. Mind you, it took him longer to sort and store the flatware than it would have taken me, but it kept him occupied (read: out of my hair) for a few minutes, and it got the job done. Wins all around.

So with that, I was inspired this morning. I made a big show of making my bed and then went into his room to show him how to make his bed. Now, here’s the thing with me and making the bed: I don’t like it, and I (admittedly) rarely do it. The room really does look nicer when the bed is made, though, so I’m occasionally willing to suck it up and just do it. Occasionally. And I really have no excuse, because my idea of making the bed is this: straighten the pillows, pull the comforter up over (or close to) said pillows, and straighten the comforter around the rest of the bed. Three simple steps, and it’s done. I don’t mess with flat sheets or other blankets (I’ve never lived where it snowed), so it’s really not that big of a deal, but I just never got into the habit.

Which brings me back to the point of this whole thing. Just because I never got into the habit of making my bed doesn’t mean it’s okay for my son to be lax in that area, too. Thus, making a big show of the act of making my bed.

He wasn’t terribly interested in watching me make his bed, but hedid get dressed on his own and, well, after a few weeks of watching me make his bed, he’ll likely (hopefully?) pick it up by osmosis. In the meantime, I’ve added it to my Daily Morning Routine list and will just have to remember to make the beds every day until I can get him to do it for me. Well, at least his own bed, anyway.

Hey – it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

