Conversational Gems

(Scene: Over breakfast in the kitchen at his little table)

The Boy: Tomorrow, you and me are going to the airport with my backpack.

Me: No, not until next week. But yes, we will go to the airport and get on an airplane to go see your cousins. And you’ll get to bring your backpack.

The Boy: Not tomorrow?

Me: No, not tomorrow. You’ll have to wait until next week.

The Boy: (pouting) But I want to see my cousins now!

Me: I understand, honey, but we can’t leave tomorrow to see your cousins. Mommy still has to go to work tomorrow.

The Boy: Oh. (pauses) Mommy?

Me: Yes?

The Boy: You take me to the airport and you go to work and I go see my cousins by myself.

Leave a Reply

