The problem with potty training

My biggest struggle with potty training is the havoc it wreaks on the afore-established morning routine. Thank goodness I have an understanding boss who gives me a lot of leeway when it comes to my morning arrival time.

I think my greatest struggle so far is this: At what point do you just say, “You’ve sat on the potty long enough. If you haven’t gone by now, you aren’t going to go!” Today, The Boy sat on the potty for a full hour, refusing to get off the commode whenever I insisted it was time to get dressed. He even went through his entire collection of My First Leap Frog reading material!

I certainly want to encourage using the potty, and I don’t want to rush The Boy. But sometimes, I just feel like enough is enough!

Leave a Reply

