“And if you’re good, Dr. W might let you play with the otoscope!”

The Boy’s 2-year checkup was this morning. At 34 inches and 27 pounds 5 ounces (weighed without clothes and shoes, of course), he falls right in the 50th percentile in both height and weight. And yet, he always seems so much bigger to me!

When we signed in this morning, the office staff immediately greeted him (“C___! Gosh, you’re getting so big!”) and remarked that it’s been some time since he was last at their office. Thankfully, he’s been quite healthy and hasn’t needed to visit for a few months. We weren’t there long before Nurse K called us to the back where he was measured and weighed.

While we waited for Dr. W, I put The Boy’s shoes on his feet (“Pant!” he ordered, pointing to his shorts, relenting only when I explained that we would put on his pants later) and let him walk around the office. (The spinning stool is always a hit.) Every now and then, I’d pick him up and let him look at himself in the mirror or examine some of the artwork on the walls, and whenever we got near the medical equipment on the wall, I explained that these weren’t for little hands to touch.

Dr. W entered the room as we finished washing our hands (he insisted on running his hand down the chair legs), and The Boy immediately clung to me, only shyly peeking at the good doctor. “You remember Dr. W,” I said gently to The Boy. “And if you’re good, Dr. W might let you play with the otoscope!” The doctor laughed and promised The Boy that yes, he would be able to play with it, and I explained that I’m trying to teach The Boy real words, and that “otoscope” is probably a better word for him to use than “flashlight-thing-that-puffs-air”.

Dr. W and I chatted a bit about The Boy’s appetite, his sleep patterns, his general behavior, and nosebleeds. He let The Boy play with the stethoscope after he checked his heartbeat and breathing, then briefly let him hold the ophthalmoscope. “C___,” he explained, holding up the tool, “this is an ophthalmoscope. It’s got a pretty flashlight in it, and I use it to check your eyes.” Then, sure enough, he showed The Boy how to squeeze a bulb and puff air from the otoscope.

All in all, Dr. W was very pleased with The Boy’s development. He said that he could see The Boy is a very intelligent child by the way he interacted with the medical equipment and gave me some suggestions of fun science experiments to conduct using Alka Seltzer tablets. He also told me that I can expect to see a gradual shift from baby to little boy in the next few months. “It will go back and forth,” he warned me, “but by the time he’s 3, you’ll see he’s definitely not a baby anymore.”

After I dressed him, he led me out of the office and waited impatiently for us to check out. Then he held my hand and led me outside, taking me to my car, then chatted about his visit to the doctor’s office the entire way to school.

No, he’s definitely not a baby anymore.

Leave a Reply

