25 Random Things About Me

This was a Facebook note that several of my friends and family did. I thought I ought to include it here for posterity, just in case The Boy stumbles upon this one day and wonders what his mom was like when he was a toddler.

  1. I learned to diagram the molecular structure of C2H4 before I learned H2O. When asked why there was a double bond between the two carbon atoms, however, I couldn’t explain it. Now that I understand atoms are like Tinker Toys with a set number of openings, it makes sense and I’ll be able to explain it to my little one when he gets a bit older.
  2. I never learned to ride a bike, though not without trying multiple times. I understand the theory and physics behind it, but I continually fail at application. Kind of like driving a stick-shift.
  3. The first concert I attended was Oingo Boingo’s Dark at the End of the Tunnel tour at the Universal Amphitheater. Including that show, I saw them four times before they broke up.
  4. I was on the same television show as Tara Reid and Jeff Cohen (Chunk from The Goonies) when I was a kid. I think I went to elementary school with Jeff, but I don’t recall ever meeting Tara.
  5. My son shares a birthday with Shannen Doherty. He also shares a birthday with Henry Clay and has the distinction of being born on Russia’s Cosmonaut Day and the anniversary of the opening of Euro Disney. I share a birthday with Mel Gibson. (I think my son has a cooler birthday.)
  6. My husband and I were married on Earth Day. It was also the anniversary of the grand opening of Disney’s Animal Kingdom.
  7. I have an extensive collection of scrapbook paper. I’ve given up on referring to it as “scrapbooking supplies” and have decided to admit that it’s really just a collection – and that I am addicted to paper and have yet to find a 12-step program for it.
  8. I can’t remember the last time I sat down to work on a real (read: not digital) scrapbook. I think it may have been the weekend before I gave birth, when I was working on my pregnancy journal/scrapbook.
  9. My friend Annie showed me how simple it is to make cards. She also introduced me to stamping, and I wholly thank (blame?) her for my extensive collection of rubber stamps, stamp pads, and embossing powder.
  10. I can count on one hand the number of cards I have purchased since 2005.
  11. I made all the stationery for my wedding, from the Save the Date cards to the invitations to the Thank You notes, and all the stuff in-between. We also had a little motif that appeared on everything, including our clothes, my flower girls’ dresses, and the cake. It was pretty cool, if may say so myself.
  12. I can only successfully draw a likeness of something if I don’t think about it or try. Otherwise, my artistic ability pales in comparison to my almost 2-year-old son’s.
  13. I went to my first therapy session when I was 11 years old. I hated it and thought it was a waste of time. Now, of course, I’m a self-help junkie.
  14. I was voted “Most Talkative” in high school. This comes as no surprise to those who know me, but oddly, I’ve been told that the first impression I give people is that I’m very quiet and mild-mannered. Weird, no?
  15. I once dated a guy who broke up with me because I was too “Americanized”. I kid you not.
  16. Every woman who stood beside me at my wedding less than three years ago is now either a mother or a mom-to-be. To be fair, though, two of the seven already had kids.
  17. I started putting my son in cloth diapers for evening and weekend use just before his first birthday. It’s been such a good experience, I only wish I had done it sooner.
  18. I did not have an epidural when I gave birth, partially because I’m a wimp and partially because I made it to 4cm and 80% without even knowing and figured it couldn’t possibly be that bad. I did, however, eventually allow the nurse to give me Nubain, which relaxed me enough to sleep through contractions but also gave me some weird hallucinatory dreams that I still remember.
  19. I don’t like to take medication unless I absolutely have to. I once took too much Midol, and, well, let’s just say I was hyper-emotional and it wasn’t a great experience.
  20. I started Kindergarten early because I was easily bored and disruptive to the other students. For a while, I only went to school twice a week so I would need to catch up, but it didn’t work. So, I got pushed up a grade, instead.
  21. At the tender age of four, I convinced my father to let me have ballet lessons by explaining to him that “it would give me poise”. He signed me up right away.
  22. I miss my mom.
  23. I’m still angry at my grandmother for dying more than 25 years ago. Years of therapy later, and I’m still resentful that she broke her promise to me.
  24. I don’t like to drink soda. I don’t like how the carbonation affects my nose. I also don’t like to drink alcohol because I don’t like how it affects my head.
  25. I (still) blindly follow my sister without thinking. I didn’t realize I did it until 2004, and almost five years later, I still catch myself doing it. I don’t think it’s a problem (she doesn’t ask me to do anything dangerous or illegal), but I don’t think it’s the norm, either.
Leave a Reply

