The Most Wonderful Time of the Year? I think not.

Do you know what the end of September means to me?

Sure, it means that Summer is over, that Autumn is upon us, that the Holidays will be here soon, and that kids are back in school.

But for me, it means my kid will catch some God awful something from one of the other kids at daycare.

Last year, he caught a bad cold. Since he was still breastfeeding, he got over it pretty quickly without the need for anything more powerful than Infants’ Tylenol. In fact, as far as colds went, it was pretty straight forward and not really hyper-alarming, though I wasn’t a big fan of the coughing and post-nasal drip.

I took him to the doctor this morning because last night was really rough for us. At its worst, his temperature had spiked to 103 degrees (Fahrenheit, of course), he was sweating profusely, his breathing was labored and just this side of wheezing, and he was near-impossible to calm. At its best, he was in a light sleep, waking every 15 minutes or so to either let out a series of coughs or to cry out in discomfort. Either way, neither of us had much sleep. It wasn’t fun. Around 2am, my nerves shattered as I began feeling the effects of exhaustion, I gave up on trying to put him back down in his own bed and brought him to bed with me… where he finally slept soundly for just a bit longer than three hours.

Now, I don’t know how I did it when he was an infant, but I’ve discovered that sleeping with a sick toddler results in very little sleep for the grownups with whom said toddler is sharing the bed. Between getting smacked in the face by a pudgy little hand or kicked sharply in the ribs by a tiny little foot, it’s a small miracle I was able to get any sleep at all. (My sister would probably say that this is payback, as I’ve always been an active sleeper, myself.)

Anyway, the visit to Dr W yielded the following diagnosis: an upper respiratory infection (just a cold) with a slight case of walking pneumonia. I received a scrip for antibiotics for the latter and was told to give The Boy lots of liquids and have him rest as much as possible. (Getting The Boy to rest? Ha! That’s easier said than done.) After the visit to the doctor, I met up with Cute Husband at his work and handed off parenting duties so that I could go to work and do my month-end/quarter-end reports.

The Boy will be able to go back to school tomorrow, and life in our little household will, eventually, return to some degree of normalcy. But right now, I just really want a nap.

Leave a Reply

