MIT? Or Cal Tech at the very least…

Allow me a moment to brag about my little boy.

There’s a running joke in the family that The Boy is destined to be an engineer when he grows up. Both of his grandfathers are engineers, after all (electrical on his dad’s side, chemical on mine), and this child has been stacking blocks 4- or 5-blocks high months before he could walk. He likes stacking things (to the point that he tries to stack blocks higher than he is tall), is intrigued by things that balance, mastered putting things in containers (and dumping them out again) before he was 7 months old, and can manipulate most of his shape blocks to fit into their respective slots. (He has some difficulty with the cross and the trapezoid, and he sometimes gets agitated that the pentagon doesn’t fit into the hole for the octagon and vice versa.) He also handles his crayons very well for his age, and his teachers repeatedly praise his coloring skills.

Several months ago, my sister sent me, among other things, some stacking pegs and a foam peg board. Because he was still so little when we received them, I tucked them out of sight and completely forgot about them until this past weekend when I wanted to show my mother-in-law his collection of Thomas the Tank Engine toys (also courtesy of my sister). When I pulled out the pegs and showed him how they fit into the holes on the foam board, he was intrigued and immediately started filling up the board. I then showed him that you could stack the pegs, which also kept his interest. When his attention waned, I filled the peg board and flipped it over so that the base was now resting on top of all the pegs. The Boy watched as I did this, then repeated it several times. The other night, he started pushing the pegs out of their holes as he held the board upside down. It was hours of entertainment and kept him occupied.

This morning, though, he completely surprised me. He put some pegs in the peg board, flipped it over and pushed some pegs out, then flipped over the board so that the base was resting on about half of the pegs. It wasn’t anything new, until he started stacking pegs on top of the now-raised peg board. In itself, it was neat to see, but what impressed me was that he placed these pegs – upside down – directly over the holes on the board.

I can’t help but be very proud of him. This is a very intelligent little boy – and he knows what he’s doing is something good by the amount of praise he receives. I have a feeling it’s going to be hard to keep him constantly challenged and engaged!

3 thoughts on “MIT? Or Cal Tech at the very least…

  1. Your little boy is obviously smarter than me. You lost me somewhere around pegs…out of holes…upside down.
    For those of us who are engineerically-challenged, we require photos with a post like this. 😉

Leave a Reply

