My Mommy uniform

The only time I had to wear a uniform (not counting restaurant jobs) was in junior high. Even then, our unifoms had lots of selections, so it wasn’t terribly stringent. We had a choice of four shirts to pair with a choice of four bottoms. I usually ended up wearing shorts every day only because I found that the most comfortable, but I digress.

A recent post by another blogger prompted me to look somewhat critically at my wardrobe and what I currently wear, and it dawned on me that I have a Mommy uniform. The bottoms are always denim (either jeans or capris), and the top is either a spaghetti strap tank top (available in several colors), a T-shirt from work, or a V-neck T-shirt (pick a color, any color). And, not unlike junior high, I’m always wearing tennis shoes.

After Kathy did my hair yesterday, it occured to me that I really should get back to wearing makeup again. It’s not like I ever wore a lot of makeup, mind you. I wore more on my wedding day than I think I had in my entire life, and even then, I wasn’t wearing very much! (Okay, maybe not in my entire life, but certainly within the past ten years.) So today, before we left for Animal Kingdom (Chris wanted to go with The Boy for Fathers’ Day), I put on a little bit of gloss and immediately felt less frumpy. Except I then realized that I needed eye liner, so I picked up some this afternoon.

Next, I really need to get my eyebrows done.

Anyway, back to my Mommy uniform. Said uniform does not limit itself to the home. Because I don’t have a dress code at work, I can wear whatever I want – that is to say, I end up wearing my Mommy uniform to work, too. I know it’s not necessary – lots of women at work are mothers and manage to put together nice ensembles every morning. Granted, most of them have children older than mine (okay, there’s only one lady at work with children my son’s age – of course, they’re triplets – and she has a similar Mommy uniform!), but it simply means there’s hope.

I think it may be time to revisit my closet and dust off some of the things I used to wear at my old job, where I had a dress code that consisted of more than “Dress comfortably, but no shorts”. I may well have given most of it away, but surely I kept some of my cute clothes.

6 thoughts on “My Mommy uniform

  1. My husband of all people instructed me one day recently on how to do quick makeup. He says a quick swipe of light blush, a neutral smudge of eye-liner on the top lid, one coat of mascara, and lip gloss will make you look put together but not done up. I usually do foundation or powder to even my skin tone, or a swipe of taupe shadow instead of liner.He's not gay. He just pays attention.

  2. I'm going to have to try that! Thanks! (Maybe not so much the mascara; I've never been a fan of that.)
    I actually put on eyeliner this morning and gloss, plus put my makeup kit in my bag so I can touch up mid-day. I've never been much of a girly-girl, but I really ought to at least try to look less haggard!

  3. It's funny, because up until I went back to work a few months ago, I never realized what a frumpy waredrobe I possessed… But the reality hit me square in the face when I realized the one pair of slacks (that didn't fit right) and two shirts, reserved mainly for church, weren't going to cut it. And my shoes? Well, I had flipflops (in every color of the rainbow) and tennies. So, several hudred dollars later, I'm finally in a place I feel is allowing me to not have to do laundry every three days. But I do miss being able to wear T-shirts and jeans every day (if I even made it out of my PJs)…

  4. I have to find a dress to wear to a wedding in a few weeks. Oh, and I need to find shoes to go with said dress, too.
    Have I mentioned I hate clothes shopping?
    After my sister left the workforce, she gave me her business suits – all of which I used a lot until I landed my current role. I think I've kept three or four of them (enough to do a round of interviews if needed), but I donated the rest of the lot last year. If need be, I suppose I'll have to shell out several hundred dollars to get a professional look again, but I'm thankful being able to wear jeans and tees to work every day!

Leave a Reply

