There’s never enough time…

I had a dream about Mom this morning.

She was helping me clean out my refrigerator (this would be funny to those who knew my mother), helping me determine what I could make out of certain things. She held up a pork butt and suggested I make kabobs out of it, but then I explained that Cute Husband was going to smoke it, so there was already a plan in place for it. (There isn’t a pork butt in my fridge, by the way, so I really don’t know where that came from.)

Anyway, I was straightening stuff on the shelves, and she stood up rather abruptly. “Do you really have to leave now?” I asked. “I didn’t get a chance to spend any time with you!”

“There’s never enough time, honey,” she said softly. “You just need to make the most of what you’ve got.”

I gave her a big hug and said, “I love you so much, Mom.”

“I love you, too, sweetie.”

“Will I see you again?”

“Of course you will!” Then she released me and said, “The baby’s crying. You need to take care of him.”

Just then, The Boy cried out, waking me from my dream. He eventually went back to sleep (it was only 5:30), but I was wide awake.

Oh, God, I miss her! Seeing her again just made me realize how much.

Leave a Reply

