Balloons

I’ve discovered two things that are guaranteed to make my little boy happy: good food and balloons. I’ve written quite a bit about food, but I don’t think I’ve written much about his newest fascination with balloons.

My friend BK was the instigator in all of this. I hold her fully responsible, anyway, even though my husband was really the one to introduce The Boy to balloons.

BK brought him a Mylar balloon for his birthday, in addition to other toys. (I tell BK she’s The Boy’s Auntie Mame, and then I have to remind her that’s a good thing.) The balloon was a hit! Sure, he loved all the Little People he received, too, and he enjoyed his cake tremendously, but the balloon was the gift that kept giving… until the helium started running out, anyway.

Now, whenever Cute Husband takes him to the grocery store, The Boy points at and screams for all the balloons in the store. I don’t witness this personally, but I can totally picture it. He also seems to find every balloon on Main Street in the Magic Kingdom, spotting them long before Cute Husband or I see them. Oddly, though, he doesn’t care about the red balloon in Goodnight Moon. But I digress.

Earlier this week, there was a Yo Gabba Gabba! episode called “Love”, and the first part of the show featured balloons. Let me back up a moment and say that puttingYo Gabba Gabba! on TV is a sure-fire way to get this child to stay still for 10 to 15 minutes. I know it’s terrible to let your child watch television, especially one as young as The Boy, but if you could just see how fixated he is with the show – and how much he enjoys the music – you would relent, too.

So back to the “Love” episode. Like I said, the first part of the show featured balloons. There was even a song about balloons during the Super Music Friend Show segment. The Boy was transfixed. He was so mesmerized, in fact, that I changed his diaper, changed his clothing, put on his socks and shoes, and clipped his nails – and he didn’t fuss one bit. It was like he was watching the best episode of the best show ever and couldn’t be bothered to be annoyed with me!

If a fascination with balloons is hereditary, he gets it from me. I absolutely loveballoons, though I don’t know exactly why. In fact, I prefer balloons to flowers, and I always have. Weird, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

