In the most unexpected places…

I’ve been finding my mother in the oddest places.

Let’s rephrase that. I find myself reminded of my mother while listening to what I once thought was “safe” music. And it’s a little unnerving.

Last night, I broke into tears while driving home when “Gone Away” by the Offspring played on the radio. Then this morning, “Wake Me Up When September Ends” by Green Day made me tear. Just now, My Chemical Romance’s “The Black Parade” caused me to reach for my box of Kleenex.

Typically, those three bands wouldn’t reduce me to tears. I think I would be more apt to sob while listening to Morrissey, Joy Division or Natalie Merchant.

I guess it goes to show you that Punk has heart, after all.

Leave a Reply

