Resisting temptation

I felt it was necessary to post an update about the Embargo, considering my last post about it indicated that I was faced with a whole lot of temptation. And, yes, I truly was. In fact, I still am. But a promise is a promise, no matter how bad of an idea it seems right now.

(And, yes, I’m fully aware of the fact that when I look at my receipts in August, at the end of this Embargo, I will be quite pleased with myself and the small increase to my savings account because of my efforts. But right now, it really sucks. It’s kind of like being on a diet of rice cakes and water for a week, knowing full well that at the end of the week you would have lost an obscene amount of weight. You want to get to that next size down, but you don’t want to put in the effort. And right now, I really don’t want to put in the effort.)

My purchases this weekend were as follows:

  • From the Carter’s Outlet: 8 1-piece pajamas for the baby, 2 of which are in the next size up. Total cost: $85, including tax. Because of this purchase, I also received a coupon for $20 off a $50 purchase if I return this month to buy more clothes for him. Considering that I need to buy more pants for him, this is probably a good thing.
  • From the Old Navy Outlet: 3 pairs of socks for the baby. Total cost: $1.60 How can you possibly beat that?
  • From Target: A bubble mailer (so I can mail something out to one of my neighbors), some white onesies for the baby in his correct size (I had to pack up all but 4 of his current onesies because I can barely get them over his head), some shampoo (with a coupon!), 2 jars of baby food, 2 refills for the Diaper Genie ($2 off the regular price – the lowest price I’ve ever seen), light bulbs, and wipes. Total cost: $46, including tax. And you have no idea how difficult it was for me to rein myself in, especially since the Nintendo DS Lite was on sale – and they had a red one in stock, staring at me!
  • And from the grocery store, $35 of food.

All in all, it wasn’t terrible. I am most proud, though, of the fact that absolutely none of this was on plastic. Everything was paid for in cash. (Well, I broke out the debit card at Carter’s, so I didn’t exactly plan that one too well…)

And, of course, what greets me in the Sunday paper but scads of ads tempting me to go out and buy things that I want but don’t really need. So, in that respect, this Embargo is a good thing. After all, as much as I want a Nintendo DS (because, mind you, everyone else has one), I have much better things to do than sit around playing it.

Like laundry. Or even better, sleep!

7 thoughts on “Resisting temptation

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I don't have a Nintendo DS Lite! I don't even know what it is.
    I love your embargo saga; I'm actually using it as an example, but my embargo has to do with eating out – my embargo being that I don't eat out for two weeks. It's gonna be difficult but you're my inspiration. Thanks for the updates on your journey (struggle)!! :o)

  2. giiiiirl, i love my DS lite. hehe. steve has the crimson/black one. i still have my old school white one, but i still lurve it. oh. i mean, good for you for not caving! 😛 hehe.

  3. I'm impressed with the Target trip. I have a hard time at Target. I always wonder around the whole store looking at everything. And Target is one of the few places I allow myself to look at baby things, so they seem extra cute and tempting to me when I do go there.

  4. Yeah, my sister has one, which my nieces fight to play. And my dad has one, which makes it easier now for both of my nieces to play it since he's staying with my sister.
    And now, of course, I learn that you have one…
    Maybe in August, when this Embargo is over, I'll have to treat myself… before the next round of the Embargo starts!

  5. i'm not sharing mine with mia. when she's old enough, either she'll have to share with steve or she's gonna have to get her own. 😛 haha! i'm all selfish and stuff. you should absolutely treat yourself to one!!! you deserve it! 😀

  6. I very rarely leave Target with a receipt of less than $100 – even more rare are those receipts of less than $50! I might have been more tempted to buy more baby clothes if there were already some on clearance (that's the only time I buy baby clothes there – I've bought shirts for 98 cents!), but since it was a new store, that made it very easy for me.
    Oh, and I wandered all over the store, pausing to admire the Nintendo DS Lites and the Fisher Price Little People. (I really like the Noah's Ark set. I mean, I think Baby C would really like the Noah's Ark set.)

Leave a Reply

