PFF: Pregnancy Flashback Fridays – 12/21/07

I missed last week because we were travelling (and the baby was still a little sick, and I was just getting over being sick myself, and my husband was throwing up while we were on the plane – but that’s another post all together), so I wanted to be sure that I posted my flashback today.

This week’s flashback: baby hiccups. (Or is it hiccoughs? And, really, what’s the difference between the two?)

Anyway, these days, whenever Baby C hiccups, I’m reminded of the sudden jolts I would feel in my belly. It was funny to watch while in meetings (my entire belly would shake), and it kept me company on the drive home. Every now and then, I miss it, but not too often. I’m always reminded, though, when I hear him hiccupping, and my hand instinctively goes to my belly, as if he were still there.

The other funny thing about his early hiccups were that I found them satisfyingly comforting because it meant that his respiratory system was developing exactly as it should. And, sure enough, he’s got a good set of lungs on him (evidenced by a few 2am screams that woke my husband).

Isn’t the human body an amazing thing?

One thought on “PFF: Pregnancy Flashback Fridays – 12/21/07

Leave a Reply

