Book Review: Sippy Cups Are Not For Chardonnay

Sippy Cups Are Not for Chardonnay: And Other Things I Had to Learn as a New Mom
Okay, the title alone made me laugh, and I’ve already promised to loan this to a friend (who thought it equally funny). Is it a book for the experienced mom? No. (Do I consider myself an experienced mom? Also, no.) But did I laugh out loud a number of times while reading it? Hell, yes!

Stefanie Wilder-Taylor is a friend of Chelsea Handler’s (whom I think is hysterically funny) who works in the entertainment industry and lives in the Los Angeles area. In fact, her pediatrician, whom she lists in the acknowledgements section of the book, is in the Valley and probably not too far from where I used to live, myself. (I didn’t look him up to double check, though. I’m not that crazy.)

There are a lot of things that she talks about in the book that just made me laugh. Mommy and Me classes, for example, and women who do absurd things like wear shirts that read “Dylan’s Mommy”. She devoted an entire chapter to playground cliques: whom to befriend, whom to avoid, and whom to emulate. She also discusses the grave importance of choosing a name for your child and refraining from ridiculous spellings.

I really enjoyed reading this book because it had a no-nonsense approach to mothering. She reminds the reader that there really is not a “right way” to put your baby to sleep each night, and that being competitive about when your baby reaches which milestones compared to someone else’s baby is simply unfair – to the kids! I found myself thinking, “Hey! That sounds familiar!” more than once while reading, like when she discussed getting her daughter on a nice sleep schedule, only to have it rudely disrupted by teething. The whole book was written in a very casual, frank style, as though she was sitting right next to you, and was a very quick read. In fact, if I had more free time, I probably could have polished it off in a couple of hours.

I recommend this book to anyone who wants to laugh at the early days of motherhood. A part of me wishes I read it while I was still pregnant (there’s a lot I could have prepared myself for), but I can fully understand a lot of the humor now that I’ve experienced at least some of it.

Leave a Reply

