Favorite Movies (or, That So Could Have Been Me)

I’m listening to the Muffs’ version of “Kids in America”, featured on the soundtrack of one of my absolute favorite movies: Clueless. (A funny note about Clueless, if you will. When it came out, my sister called me the day after she saw it and asked if I had seen it yet. When I told her I hadn’t, she said, “Oh, you have to. It is just so you.” [pause] I’m still not sure what she meant by that.)

So, now I’m thinking about some of my favorite movies and who the main characters are. Here’s a brief list (in no particular order):

Heathers

Clueless

Legally Blonde

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Mean Girls (yes, it’s a Lindsay Lohan flick, but it’s so choice!)

For those movie buffs out there, please keep in mind that this is a list of my favorite fluffy movies, the kind that I look forward to plopping down on the couch to watch, knowing full well I’ve seen them a dozen times before. For fluff movies, they’re brilliantly written and very well-made – not Oscar-worthy, obviously, but awesome, nonetheless. My favorite thinking movies are an entirely different list… and among those are the Godfather movies, the Star Wars movies, and a number of movies featuring Jimmy Stewart. But I’m getting off track again.

Now, let’s think of the main characters in all of these movies. What do they all have in common? Well, except for Veronica in Heathers, they’re all delightfully, well, dumb. I don’t mean dumb in the sense of not knowing anything; it’s just that they don’t express themselves with a myriad of words. And each of these movies has had such a great impact on the teenage vernacular. (Well, except for Mean Girls, but I still think it’s an awesome movie!)

The best thing of all, of course, is that I realized (after watching Legally Blonde for the hundredth time) that if I zagged where I zigged in life, that so would have been me. To quote Veronica, I’d be using my grand IQ to decide what color gloss to wear. (As luck would have it, though, I don’t even wear gloss!)

I think these movies are so enjoyable for me because of this fact. I can imitate Cher, Buffy, and any of the Heathers so perfectly, it’s almost scary. Even worse is that I can do it so believably. After all, you can take the girl out of the Valley…

Don’t get me wrong: I wouldn’t go back to any second in high school for all the money in the world. Even if I had the power to change certain things, I wouldn’t want to relive any of it (which probably explains why I helped plan my 10-year reunion then refused to attend). But I think these movies allow me to safely relive my adolesence for a few hours, after which I can go back to my thirty-something reality in peace.

And I can be glad I zigged instead of zagged.

Leave a Reply

