Book Review: Peeing in Peace – Tales & Tips for Type A Moms

Peeing In Peace: Tales & Tips for Type A Moms
The first book I’ve read since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows also happened to be a parenting book, or, rather, a book to help me through some of my daily struggles with being a mom. Its pages are full of funny anecdotes and advice on how to not feel guilty about working outside the home.
The authors, Beth Feldman and Yvette Corporon, both work in the entertainment industry and chose different paths in approaching their careers once motherhood beckoned. Both chose to further their careers, but it was the ways in which they did so that differed.

One of the funniest things that showed the differences between the authors was their approaches to serving food. Beth, for example, says, “I don’t do cupcakes,” and goes on to write about bringing Dunkin Donuts Munchkins to her son’s bake sale. Yvette, on the other hand, says she cooks out of guilt, as if elaborately planned and executed meals and dinner parties make up for the time she spends away from her kids. (The chapters on food also have recipes, including a chicken tenders breaded with whole wheat panko. I’m anxious to try that one.)

My one gripe, though, is that the book assumes that the reader can easily adapt her schedule to work from home at least part of the time… which isn’t always possible. Sadly, I think companies that understand the value of telecommuting employees are in the minority, at least in this state where I live. (Ironically, I would probably do more work, not less, if I were working from home, especially since I spend a good part of my days waiting for things that don’t post until the late afternoon… right before I need to go home.) It also assumes that the reader works in an office (which I do, but which many moms do not) and has a fairly predictable schedule.

There are a lot of moments in this book that made me laugh out loud, though. I could relate to a number of things they discussed, and some I can just imagine are coming my way as Baby C gets older. But I’ll have to say that the book was a wonderfully funny and fresh perspective on how to juggle being a wife and mother who works outside the home.

Leave a Reply

