My boss at work is easier to please than my “boss” at home

Allow me to submit the following points as evidence:

– When my boss at work needs something, she will call or e-mail and let me know what she needs. When my son needs something, he screws his face up and howls.

– When I don’t do a task exactly as my boss at work wants it done, she will sit down with me and offer constructive criticism for the next time. When I don’t do something exactly as my son wants it done, he cries until I get it right… this time.

– When I’m running late on a deadline or can’t get to something right away, my boss at work will often pitch in and help me, or she will help me re-prioritize. When I can’t get to something right away for my son, he will be patient for about 5 seconds before launching into a crying fit.

– When I’m a little late for work, my boss doesn’t mind, as long as I get all my work done. When I’m a little late coming home, I find my screaming son has already blown out my husband’s eardrums.

– When I sit down with my boss at work for a meeting that she calls, she focuses on the issues at hand so that we’re done as quickly as possible. When I sit down with my son for a feeding that he demands, he allows his attention to wander to prolong the session for as long as possible.

– When I need to use the restroom in the middle of a meeting, my boss at work quietly shoos me out of the room so that no one is disturbed. When I need to use the restroom at home in the middle of a feeding (or playtime or dancing around the house), my son protests and threatens to wake the dead with loud screams.

– When I’m on the computer, I’m doing exactly what my boss expects of me. When I’m on the computer at home, my son expects me to let him play with the keyboard and/or mouse.

– When I am quietly studying or contemplating something, my boss is often doing the same. When I’m quietly reading or am otherwise silent at home, my son will chatter non-stop to get my attention and engage me in conversation.

– When my boss at work is sick or just not feeling well, she doesn’t want to be around anyone and will stay home. When my son is not feeling well, he wants to be constantly held, so I stay home.

Really, Baby C is lucky he’s as cute as he is.

Leave a Reply

