Baby C's social calendar

Baby C’s calendar is quickly filling up! So far, he has two engagements on his schedule: the American Heart Association walk on September 29, and a playdate with my friend A and her little boy, Baby R on October 6.

I’m excited about the AHA walk, though I have to confess this isn’t my original concept. Jennifer does an annual March of Dimes walk with her little boy, but the March of Dimes doesn’t have a walk in Central Florida, so I chose the AHA Heart Walk for our annual event. My father-in-law had a heart attack a few years ago, my uncle-in-law has had two, and my other uncle-in-law had one within the past year, too. Heart disease definitely runs in my husband’s family. My maternal grandfather also had problems with his heart, so heart disease is no stranger to my family, either. Then, to top it all off, my neighbor at work had a mild heart attack about 10 months ago.

But I’m also excited about the prospect of taking the baby out for a 3-mile walk. It sounds nuts, I know, but I’ve been wanting to get out and exercise, but this heat is unbearable. By the end of September, it will have cooled considerably, and since the walk is early in the morning, it ought to be good walking weather.

I’m equally excited to see A and to finally meet Baby R. He’s a little less than three months younger than Baby C, but that’s practically a lifetime in baby ages. In fact, when we get together for our playdate, Baby R will be 3 months old, and Baby C will be one week shy of his 6-month birthday.

Life goes by so fast.

But it’s going to be so much fun to see them. I haven’t seen A in ages, and it will be so nice to catch up. And the boys can stare at each other.

Leave a Reply

