For those who stay at home, I salute you!

Seriously, I tip my proverbial hat to all the Stay At Home mommies out there. I had to take a day off from work to take care of my transportation issues, and Baby C stayed with me the whole time. Now, he was an absolute angel and never hardly ever fussed, but all the same…

I had these grandiose ideas of prepping dinner so that all I needed to do once Cute Husband came home was assemble the pieces. That only sort of happened. I also thought I could do a few loads of laundry. I was only able to get one in – and that was only after dinner. I even thought I’d be able to do a little bit of work I had brought home. Once again, I was denied.

Oh, but he behaved while we were at the car dealership buying my new car. He never napped like I hoped he would, but I have no complaints about his behavior. I just doubt that it’s something I could do every day.

So, to all the SAHMs out there, I think you totally rock.

5 thoughts on “For those who stay at home, I salute you!

  1. You COULD do it everyday because you would get used to it and adapt. It's just like any job where you have to juggle priorities… the longer you do it, the better you get at it. Of course, it isn't easy, and some days I do wish I was at a traditional job instead (trust me, lunch break is 100% you time). Anyhow, that's my 2 cents, but thanks for the compliment!

  2. You're right – I probably could do it. And if I didn't love my job and the people I work with, I would probably want to do it. After all, there are times when I take him to school in the mornings and I just want to hang with him all day. But I really do have the utmost respect for SAHMs. This isn't a gig I can see myself doing on a daily basis!

  3. I totally agree with you! While I am currently a SAHM (and probably not a very good one at that!!!), I miss going to work and having that 'separate' part of my life. I decided to stay at home the first year, as I didn't want to miss any of the 'firsts' in my little bubba's development. But I know that in the longer run, I don't have the creativity, patience, or multi-tasking ability to stay a SAHM.

  4. I just wanted to let you know I linked to you on my post today, you are a true gem for speaking up on behalf of stay at home moms.

  5. Thanks, Deb. I truly think SAHMs don't get half of the credit they deserve. One of my best friends is a SAHM with a son just 2 months younger than mine, and I call her regularly (at least once every other week) to check on her, specifically her well-being. It's a decision I wholeheartedly admire, yet a choice I don't think I would personally make. After all, I can only sing "The Wheels on the Bus" so many times before I think my head is about to explode.

Leave a Reply

