Hold back the rain

(If you recognize the source of my entry title, you totally rock!)

This is Florida. Central Florida, to be more precise. The nice thing about Central Florida is that, well, as the name implies, it’s in the center of the state, and hurricanes aren’t as likely to hit us head-on. But, as it’s still Florida, we get rain. Lots of it.

I don’t know why Seattle has the reputation of being a rainy city. The times I’ve been to Seattle – in fact, the times I’ve been in Washington state at all – it’s been nice. Sure, some days were a bit overcast, and there were some drizzly days, too, but the weather never seemed that bad.

In the summer, it rains every day in Central Florida. I don’t know why people insist on vacationing here in the summer when there are daily downpours. Honestly. You can almost set your watch by them. You know it’s time to go home when the skies open up and water starts gushing from the clouds above. It’s almost like an invisible hand is wringing out these clouds as they pass over the area. On those days, especially, you feel stupid if you’ve left your umbrella in the car – or, even worse, at home. (I feel especially stupid often, though not today.) And, since it’s Florida, it could be raining at my office but clear as a bell at my husband’s office and overcast at Baby C’s school. There’s no rhyme or reason to it.

Today, though, we don’t just have the patchy afternoon showers. When I arrived home last night, it was raining. When I went to bed last night, it was raining. When Baby C woke up for his midnight(ish) snack, it was raining. When Baby C woke me up this morning (at 4:30) to be fed, it was raining. And when I left the house this morning, guess what? It was raining.

It’s still raining. And I don’t think there’s any sign of it stopping any time soon.

So help me, please… Hold back the rain!

3 thoughts on “Hold back the rain

Leave a Reply

