Back to school

This is one of my favorite times of the year, when everywhere you turn, there are back-to-school items on sale. It’s so exciting. I don’t know why, but there’s something about the smell of a fresh pack of binder paper, the crack of a brand new textbook, and the gleam of the barrel of a brand new pen. I always loved shopping for school supplies. I still do.

I remember telling my mom last year that the most heartbreaking thing would be to have a daughter who didn’t care about different colors of highlighters and notebooks with cute covers. I certainly hope Baby C develops the same excitement for the first days of a new grade or semester that I had, but I can be more forgiving if he doesn’t have to have a green argyle notebook and folder set for one class, a blue argyle set for another class, and so on. He may very well not care about the color of his binders or backpack, but I know I will.

Well, I’ve got another three years before I need to start planning the contents of his first backpack, and, as tempting as it may be, I’m actually refraining from buying his school supplies now. After all, he barely recognizes that he has hands – I’m not about to thrust crayons and pencils into his fists and force him to write.

Besides, once he starts school, I can look forward to paying for 20 years of books, school supplies, and tuition.

Leave a Reply

