QotD: I Take These Things For Granted

What are five things you take for granted?
Submitted by meowkitty.

I try not to take anything for granted, but, as it turns out, I take a lot of things for granted. Here are a few of the big ones:

My health and that of my family. My friend, A, had her little boy a little more than a week ago, and he had some respiratory issues and a little problem with his foot. He’s fine now, of course, and comfortably adjusting to his home life. Meanwhile, my three-month-old is thriving wonderfully despite a little congestion – which is the only issue we’ve had at all! I’m extremely thankful for our health and cognizant that not everyone is necessarily as blessed… but I still take it for granted.

My job. I love my job and I love where I work. I love the people I get to work with every day. With that in mind, I take for granted that it will be there every day. I know how lucky I am to have such a great career and be passionate about my work and the company for which I work, but I know I still take it for granted.

My husband and the rest of my family. I have a wonderful and reliable husband (and family I can count on, too), and I know I more than occasionally take him (and my parents and sister) for granted. In my hectic routine trying to juggle work, home, Baby C, friends, and still find time for myself, I know I drop the ball in spending time with my husband. The reality, though, is that without him, I would be a complete and total mess. Well, more so than I am now, anyway.

Literacy and a love of reading. I’ve been able to read since I was 4 and able to write since, gosh, I have no idea when. I totally take it for granted. I assume everyone loves to read (on top of assuming everyone knows how), and it’s going to be so odd teaching Baby C to read when it’s time. (I’m patient. First he has to be able to hold his head up on his own. But we’re reading together now, anyway.)

That there will be a tomorrow. This is probably the one thing I take for granted that I try most to fix. Carpe diem, as they say. But with all the daily responsibilities and such, it’s hard not to put some things off until tomorrow. Right now, I try to cherish every moment I spend with Baby C when he’s still as little as he is, despite late night feedings, constant carrying, and his inability to tell me what’s wrong. I think that’s a good start.

Leave a Reply

