First-borns have higher IQs? (Don't tell my sister!)

Okay, so this study has found that first-born children have higher IQs than their younger siblings. Not much higher – only 2.3 points – but high enough to translate to a 30% greater chance of the older child getting into an Ivy League school. I don’t really know how those 2.3 IQ points can make that much of a difference, but hey – my sister was accepted to every school to which she applied (except Harvard), and I didn’t even bother with 90% of her choices. So, then, from a purely sociological perspective, it’s understandable that my sister is smarter than I. I accepted that fact a long, long time ago.

But it still didn’t stop me from breaking her crayons. πŸ™‚

One thought on “First-borns have higher IQs? (Don't tell my sister!)

  1. well, i gladly admit my sister is of higher intelligence than i. she's also more muscially talented than i was at her age. i'd like to hope i was of a higher intelligence at some point in my life….then i discovered alcohol πŸ™‚ and i grew lazy πŸ™‚ oh well…i've accepted it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

