I got a bad habit and it ain't goin' away…

(Kudos to anyone who knows the source of the subject line!)

Pregnancy was kind to me, for the most part. I didn’t gain a ridiculous amount of weight, I transitioned back into normal clothes fairly quickly, and labor wasn’t even that terrible. But it did leave me with a bad habit.

Now that I’m back at work, I find myself munching at my desk while working on projects. It’s partially because I’m hungry (after all, I’m still feeding a growing boy), but it’s starting to bother me. Like, just this afternoon, I’ve had two granola bars, three rice cakes, and a small package of dried mangoes. That was just in the past two hours. I have cheese and breadsticks calling my name, and I’m trying to ignore them by drinking some more water. It’s really not working.

I need to stop eating like this. I think I’ve semi-convinced myself that as long as it’s healthy food, it’s okay to graze. All the same, I know it’s a bad habit.

Do they have rehab for this?

5 thoughts on “I got a bad habit and it ain't goin' away…

  1. When you breastfeed, you need to eat to keep up the supply for the demand. I have a co-worker who ate like there was NO tomorrow after each one of her babies was born (there are now 3). I would see her leave the dining room with two take-out boxes full of food but she never looked like she gained an ounce. After having her 3 girls, she's probably thinner than she's ever been. I think the big appetite is because, as long as you're breastfeeding, you're still "eating for 2."

  2. I'm still hungry all the time. I know I can't keep using the breastfeeding excuse to justify a bowl of ice cream every night for much longer, but I'm milking it (no pun intended!) for as long as I possibly can.

  3. Yay! I knew you were cool. I could tell by reading your stories. (They serve as a great heads-up on what I have in store with Baby C!)

Leave a Reply

