When PC goes too far

I don’t know why I thought of this on my way to work today, but I was reminded somehow of a conversation my husband and I had a few years ago.

“Are you offended by the term ‘Flip’?” he asked.

“I guess it depends on the context,” I replied. “Like, it’s one thing for [my friend] Faye to call me a Flip (only because she translates it to mean Fine Looking Island Person), but no one has ever called me that. Why?”

He paused. “Someone at work said we shouldn’t call the charts on easels ‘Flip Charts’ because someone might find it offensive.”

“Seriously?” I asked, dumbfounded. “That’s the stupidest thing I’ve heard. They’re called ‘Flip Charts’ because you actually flip the pages.”

“I know,” he said, laughing. “I wanted to tell them not to use the phrase ‘White Board’ because it offended me!”

I hate it when people try to be so PC that they end up sounding like idiots. The cast of Avenue Q is right: If we all could just admit that we are racist a little bit and everyone stopped being so PC, maybe we could live in harmony!

One thought on “When PC goes too far

Leave a Reply

