Back to work

It’s incredibly hard to believe it’s already been six weeks. Well, let me rephrase that. On one hand, it’s incredibly hard to believe it’s already been six weeks. On the other hand, it’s incredibly hard to believe it’s only been six weeks. Baby C has grown so much (he weighed 10 pounds 6 ounces when I brought him to the hospital for an impromptu weigh-in on Monday), and I’m starting to shrink (I’m only 10 pounds heavier than my starting pregnancy weight… which was 10 pounds heavier than I wanted to be to begin with, so I’ll still work on losing another 20 pounds).

So, I head back to work on Tuesday. I offered to come in today, but my boss is out today and told me to take an extra day and just come back Tuesday. Have I mentioned how awesome my boss is? In the interim, though, I’m responding to e-mails and doing what little work I can from home… which is to say, not a whole lot. I don’t mind, though. My mom is watching Baby C for me while I take a few moments for myself.

I’m anxious to get back to work, if only for some sense of normalcy. There’s that Mommy Guilt seeping in from time to time (even now as I listen to my mother sing lullabies to the baby), but as my mom has told me, I’m too much like my grandmother – I want my own existence. So, for the next few days, I’ll be preparing a food supply for Baby C so that he has enough to eat while my mother-in-law watches him during the work day. I’d might as well get used to it, though. It’s not like he’ll be at work for me to nurse whenever my breasts start to feel full.

Ah, the joys of being a working mom.

Leave a Reply

