Men have clocks, too!

This morning, I slept in a little later than usual (damned 3 AM potty break again – this time accompanied by a sciatic nerve spasm that seemed to think it was funny to act up at that hour), and was in bed long enough to see the story on the Today Show about the male biological clock. I found it really interesting; although some of my books had alluded to the existence of a male biological clock, no one had ever come out and said, “Men’s sperm are limited in their life spans!”

I’m an older first-time mom-to-be than I wanted to be. I honestly thought that by the time I was 30, I’d be finished having kids. Here I am, though, 32 years old, getting ready to have my first child, and so far, everything seems to be going just fine. In all honesty, it would have been incredibly difficult to have a child earlier than now; I’m finally in a great place in my career, we have a terrific home, and both my husband and I are much more financially prepared to add someone to our life together. Are we totally prepared to bring a baby home in the next 5-7 weeks? Probably not. (Is anyone ever totally prepared for that?)

Anyway, the news story made me feel a little better about my own biological clock. After all, I’ve spent the past 15 years or so thinking that the health and well-being of my child (or children) had a lot to do with my age, and I could just imagine feeling an insane surge of guilt if my child was anything less than perfect. (Don’t get me wrong – I will likely still feel an immense feeling of guilt if Baby C is less than perfectly healthy when he comes… like wondering if it was something I ate or if I caused something by not staying off my feet enough – stuff like that.)

I don’t know how the men I know would respond to this, though. I have a feeling a number of them will think it’s a load of dung and not give it a second thought. But, for me, it’s nice to be reminded that my baby’s DNA comes from both my husband and me, and to be assured that we’re fully equal partners in creating this tiny little life.

2 thoughts on “Men have clocks, too!

  1. Thanks for posting on this — I didn't catch this segment and I found the topic really interesting. It does just make sense, though, so it's nice to hear it's finally getting some attention! I found a really interesting NY Times article on it. Though, having married my husband when he was the ripe "old" age of 34 (only a month shy of 35), I do take issue with the assertion at the top of pg 3 of this article that "Another possibility [regarding autism and schitzophrenia in offspring of older fathers] is that the father's own mental illness or autistic tendencies are responsible both for the late marriage and for the effect on the child." I have to admit, I do find it pretty amusing that they even mentioned this possible explanation!

Leave a Reply

