Nice people rule!

(That’s my positive spin on “Mean people suck!”)

One thing I get to experience as a pregnant woman is how nice some people are and how inconsiderate others are. Take for example my recent journey to the break room at work. I had in one hand a reheated cup of mashed potatoes and gravy and in the other, a glass of ice water. I’m perfectly capable of balancing these and opening a door – I was able to do it before I got pregnant, and it’s really not that much of a stretch. It’s also something that happens almost daily (though not necessarily with mashed potatoes and gravy). Yet, every time I am about to leave the break room when my hands are full, someone always offers to open the door for me – and if I’ve already got it open, they will hold it for me until I clear the threshold. Is it because these people see me on a daily basis (or near-daily, as I really don’t see everyone in the building every day)? I think that it’s because they’re just really nice.

On the flip side, though, there are also some very rude people out there. This weekend while I was at JoAnn Fabrics, I was lucky enough to find a spot close to the entrance. Walking can be somewhat laborious for me, not to mention carrying bags while I walk. At any rate, when I arrived at the store, there was a space right next to the handicapped spaces that was wide open and seemingly waiting for me. Of course, if it wasn’t there, I would have parked elsewhere. With gas prices as they are, there’s really no need to shark a parking lot when there are plenty of open spaces.

I mention this because when I was leaving, I had a full cart of fabric. The bags weren’t the lightest things, either, so I took a few trips back and forth from the cart (which I kept up on the curb) to the trunk of my car. I knew it was going to take me a little while, but as I didn’t have my husband or any companions with me, this was the best I could do. Well, some yahoo seemed to disagree. After my second trip to my trunk, this woman, whom I suppose had been waiting for my spot since she saw me unlock my door and put my purse in the car, sticks her head out the window and says (and I wish I was making this up), “How much longer are you going to take? You can bring more than one bag to the car, you know!” I smiled, waved, and went back two more times (though I really could have combined this into one) before slowly getting into my car. Then I took my time putting my seatbelt on, plugging in my iTrip, and proceeding to start my car.

I really don’t think this exchange would have bothered me so much if I weren’t pregnant and hormonal. The thing is, I’m really doing the best I can. I stay to the right when I’m walking down the hall so people can easily pass me, I’m careful to stay out of people’s ways (for the most part), and I’m conscious of what I can and cannot safely do (though my family thinks I have a tendency to overestimate my capabilities). I don’t rush people with small children or the elderly; I can find my way around them if I’m in that much of a rush.

On the positive side, though, I have to say I encounter many more nice people than rude ones like that lady in the parking lot. I think that’s just as well. Nice people are better, anyway.

4 thoughts on “Nice people rule!

  1. If I was there I would have yelled "Why don't you go back to your home on Whore Island?"But then again, if I was there she probably wouldn't have said anything to begin with.But if she was sharking, I would have taken my time. Even go as far as to go back to the store or another store.Some things are done on principle.

  2. I can't believe people!! Someone did this to me once while I was reading a map. I looked at her for a minute, and then said, "Oh, it may take me another minute. I have a hard time reading a map while I'm driving."I would never ask someone something like that. Rude ass!! She totally lives on Whore Island!

  3. I admire your optimism and kindness. Even in the face of someone who is obviosuly being selfish and rude, you were very kind still and just let it go. That is rare to find. And you are pregnant? WOW…even more suprising at how strong you are. By the way, I was picturing that moment in Fried Green Tomatoes (parking lot scene).lol. Not sure if you ever saw that movie. Anyway, good job and kudos…good luck with your pregnancy..the world needs more good-hearted and respectful people like yourself. Much Love, B

Leave a Reply

